Another update! - Reisverslag uit Birmingham, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Esra Broek - WaarBenJij.nu Another update! - Reisverslag uit Birmingham, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Esra Broek - WaarBenJij.nu

Another update!

Door: Esra van den Broek

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Esra

16 Maart 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Birmingham

How's everyone over there? I'm fine! Still happy, safe and sound here in B'ham!

*Enjoying my lectures?*
Lectures have been going great lately, and it’s weird to say but I’m actually enjoying them. Last Tuesday we were able to go outside to do our assignment, which was awesome! During the literature lectures we’ve been discussing one of my favourite books ‘’The English Patient’’ and I did pretty well during the assignments as well if I may say so.

*Thank you Mr Skype man!*
I want to thank the inventor of Skype, mr Skype! (I know that’s not his real name but I don’t know who invented it). I’ve had some lovely skype chats with my family and some of my friends back home. I also convinced Dennis to install Skype and it was very nice to see his face after a few months!

*Why Essays, why?*
So, because of my trip I have to hand in my essays before the Easter break instead of somewhere in May. So Instead of going to some parties I decided to stay home and work on my essays (Big shoulder tap for me!) I decided to write my essays about:
- The education system of England and about the changes the government is going to make in 2015. I also want to ask some students from Newman what they think of it and what they would like to change
- The Black Country and its History. I also want to make a reference to the Black Country Museum.
- The English Patient novel versus The English Patient film (1996)
- The Great Gatsby and how the American Dream is intertwined
I’ve finished my first essay about the education system already! (Go me, go!)

*Onesie party and St. Paddy Day celebration*
After my hard work I deserved a night out. Kate and Zoe celebrated their Birthday and there was only 1 rule: wear a Onesie! I didn’t have one so I borrowed one from Zoe (but I’m definitely going to buy one anytime soon! Man those things are awesome!) So we played some games and after that we went to the Senser Bar at the uni (yes, still wearing our Onesies). At the Senses Bar there was a party because of St. Paddy Day so we went there to combine two parties! Everyone had a big laugh because of our Onesies but I’ve been told I was a very cute Cow (my Onesie was white with black spots. Now that I think of it, maybe I was a Dalmatian…).

*Preparations!*
On Saturday morning my landlord brought me a beautiful backpack that I could borrow for my trip! I was so happy and again, I have the best landlord in the whole world! She also brought us a Barbie (BBQ) so it’s time for a Barbeque party somewhere next week!

I got my backpack, a lot of confirmations from couch surf hosts, so now I only have to buy my tickets, a descent camera and some other things (like t-shirts, a blanket, some guidebooks, etc.). London, Cambridge, Brighton, Manchester, Liverpool, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Belfast and Dublin, here I come!

Oh, before I forget, if you want to join me, you’re most welcome, just let me know!

*Beautiful Birmingham*
On Saturday afternoon Ian picked me up and showed me around Birmingham. He took me to see Lickey Hill, and on top of the Hill you can see all of Birmingham (and with my glasses on I could even see Dudley and Coventry). It reminded me of home, because there is also a nice park and it looked just like the Goffert. I was so beautiful! After that we took a nice walk through the woods and with the weather being amazing and all, I couldn’t help but falling in love with Birmingham (once again haha). Later that day I tried curry for the first time in my life and I have to say, it wasn’t bad at all! I might even try to make it myself somewhere next week!

*Things I’ve learned?*
- Don’t lose your bankcard because it takes 2,5 weeks to get a new one…
- The best thing to do in the morning: breakfast outside and cuddling with Penny
- I never thought I could Quentin Tarantino more than I already did!
- Buy a Onesie
-The pub 'The Great Stone' is named after a big stone just outside the pub(???)
- Being ill on St. Paddy Day’s parade isn’t cool

After being completely stuffed because of eating a mega burger it's now time for a bath! Enjoy your evening everyone! xx

http://www.flickr.com/photos/116626563@N07/sets/

  • 18 Maart 2014 - 19:23

    Dirk Vooren:

    Hi Es, erg leuk verslag! Ik krijg de indruk dat je het erg naar je zin hebt. Geniet ze en een dikke zoen van Dirkiedee

  • 27 Maart 2014 - 17:04

    Jan LInders:

    Hi Esra, quite an update, lots of new things you saw and learned, didn't you? Don't lose your bankcard- definitely yes I agree; buy a onesie........well...er...I don't know! Enjoy, Jan

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Birmingham

Mijn eerste reis

Birmingham

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 Mei 2014

Still travelling

13 April 2014

Quite a week...

30 Maart 2014

Big week!

23 Maart 2014

Ups and Downs

16 Maart 2014

Another update!
Esra

Actief sinds 01 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 257
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8113

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Januari 2014 - 05 Juni 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: