Little Girl in the Big City - Reisverslag uit Birmingham, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Esra Broek - WaarBenJij.nu Little Girl in the Big City - Reisverslag uit Birmingham, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Esra Broek - WaarBenJij.nu

Little Girl in the Big City

Door: Esra van den Broek

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Esra

23 Februari 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Birmingham

So, this is my first blog, completely written in English, so that my dear internationals can read it as well (especially Lauren and Ben!).

Lectures skipped: 1, Homework done: 1 (out of many), Early mornings: 1 (thanks to Jan Willem), Hours slept: lots and lots!

*Lectures*
I take two courses, Language Skills and British Culture, both given by Mr C. Watts. The first lectures were kind of ''unorganized'' or ''unprepared''. So, when I woke up on a Monday morning, I had the feeling that lecture wouldn't be very interesting or might even be cancelled. Plus, I was very tired, so I texted Tommy that I'm going to skip lecture. When I came downstairs, at 2pm (after finally waking up again), I saw Tommy sitting in the living room and I was like: ''Don't you have to be in lecture?'' Apparently, as I ''predicted'' there was no lecture! LUCCKKKYYY!

*Volleyball and other Sports*
So every Wednesday we play Volleyball. The first times were more of a nice get together but since last week I'm trying to come up with all different kinds of exercises to practise tactics and to improve the playing techniques. So, from now on, the first hour will consist of practising and the second hour of a match.

I've also been invited to play in the netball team (whatever netball is haha! I only know it's a sort of combination of basketball and handball) But there are only two more matches left so I don't think I'll be able to join them this semester... But maybe I can join them on trainings or when they are playing a friendly match.

*Cadbury Manor's presents: First Movie Night*
I told you about the projector Tommy bought a few weeks ago. We've been using for ourselves since. We decided to stop being selfish and to create a Cinema for all our friends once a week! Last Wednesday, we invited so many people that we had no space left in our living room and we had to sit on the ground (maybe we should buy some big fluffy bean bags). The movie in question was 'The Brothers Grimm'! Since we invited mostly girls, we've been melting away (like butter) by the mere sight of Heath Ledger and Matt Damon (Dibs on Heath Ledger!) So, next movie night will be held tomorrow, featuring Brad Pitt haha!

*Picking up Jan Willem*
I think I figured out the true definition of friendship: She; waking up at 6 to pick him up from the airport, he; buying her coffee. (And a big one at that!) Jan Willem arrived at the airport at 08:30, and me, being a good friend, was waiting for him at 08:00, holding a sign. So, he finally arrived and he bought the biggest coffee I've ever seen (and... I needed it!)

*Day out with the internationals*
Last week a few internationals went to Coventry and this week we went to New street to see the Canals. But, beforehand we had a nice lunch together and a beer. During the trip we saw some buildings, nothing really special, but it was just nice to have a little trip! After that we went to the BBC department of Birmingham and Tommy bought a mug with a bowtie (Because bowties are awesome!).

Since we were in New Street anyway, we went to the Art Galleries (because last time we only saw half of it).

Lauren started to be all excited about something called 'Bubbly tea', so we grabbed one of those on the way back home. Apparently 'Bubbly tea', or the one I had 'Bubbly frozen Yoghurt', is tea/frozen yoghurt with little jelly balls that pop in your mouth when you drink/eat it. Those little balls are in like 10 different flavours and you can add all the flavours you want. Weird concept, but it's not bad!

*Upcoming events*
So, because of me being a control freak, and of me knowing the activities manager of Newman, I was thinking of setting up some nice events with some other internationals for in the future. I was thinking of a walking buffet where everyone brings a typical dish from, for example, Spain or Romania. Furthermore I was planning on doing some trips to Cadbury World, Alton towers, and other nice places like London and Brighton. And I was hoping to arrange a party at the end of the semester where everybody is fully dressed, some sort of Prom idea. But, we'll see!

*Things I've learned this week*
- Never spill an Irish lad's drink or you might get killed
- Doritos are 3,50 euro here (never buying those again...)
- Watching BBC's Snow Puppies is hilarious when drunk
- Giving a party has its perks: Lost of Snacks left!
- Fox Kids series and intros still ROCK!
- Best act of friendship: buying you Ben&Jerry’s Core Karamel Sutra when feeling cranky

Pictures:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/116626563@N07/sets/

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Birmingham

Mijn eerste reis

Birmingham

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 Mei 2014

Still travelling

13 April 2014

Quite a week...

30 Maart 2014

Big week!

23 Maart 2014

Ups and Downs

16 Maart 2014

Another update!
Esra

Actief sinds 01 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 233
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8126

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Januari 2014 - 05 Juni 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: