Big week! - Reisverslag uit Birmingham, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Esra Broek - WaarBenJij.nu Big week! - Reisverslag uit Birmingham, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Esra Broek - WaarBenJij.nu

Big week!

Door: Esra van den Broek

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Esra

30 Maart 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Birmingham

The countdown has begun! I’ve been here for 10,5 wonderful weeks now, and 9,5 more lovely weeks to go! And some of my friends have made plans for when I come back, so more and more incredible weeks ahead of me!

*Fight against Cancer*
I think most Dutch people haven't heard of it or haven't participated in it, but there's a massive facebook no make-up selfie campaign going to raise money for Cancer Research. The idea is that someone challenges you to make a selfie like that and after doing so, you can challenge 2 or 3 other friends (girls, of course). I've heard that they raised millions of Dollars because of it! :D

*To be in Stratford or not the be in Stratford, that’s the question*
And the answer is yes, I’ve been to Stratford-upon-Avon to see Shakespeare’s houses: Shakespeare’s Birthplace, Anne Hathaway’s Cottage & Gardens, Nash’s House & New Place and Hall’s Croft. I went there with the fabulous Tommy and Lauren and we had a lovely time! Beside the moments when we bumped into a group of French pupils who were here for a Trip. (Never thought that teenagers could be that annoying…) But now about the good things. There were real performers who quoted sonnets from Shakespeare and they could do almost every poem we suggested. There were beautiful gardens and I really like the style of the houses.

Me and Lauren (and I think Tommy as well) never had a real English tea hour. So we went to one of the local restaurants and ordered tea with scones with cream and jam. I’m glad I ordered the small portion because I was really full afterwards, but satisfied.

*Black ink, pain, ‘Hagelslag’ and a new me*
‘’Hi Esra. I fell ill this morning. I cannot do your tattoo today anymore. I'm sorry.
Cesar
Body Garden Tattoo’’

That’s how my morning began, I was so sad and depressed after receiving that message! I was already on my way to New Street (where Cesar’s studio is) so I was about to step out of the bus and make my way back home when I received another message:

‘’I'm joking! I got you ahah! See you in a bit!
Cesar
Body Garden Tattoo’’

Anger, laughter, feeling tricked… It was a wheel of emotions but I bought some lunch and went over to Cesar as soon as I could. I was so excited!

I saw the design on Wednesday morning and to be honest, I expected something different but I was blown away! So Cesar told me that he would add some shadow to it and that everything would be ready for Thursday. And he kept his word, he added the shadow and it made the tattoo more beautiful and it looked like it was coming more to life (I know it sounds weird but the artists among us will know what I mean). So, first things first, making a stencil, and we decided to enlarge the tattoo by 15 percent (more ink, more pain.. yeaaa… couldn’t wait…). And then it was time…
So, did it hurt? I would lie if I would say no, but it’s more an uncomfortable pain which you’ll get used to after a few minutes (bar if you’re planning on getting it on your ankle because that just fricking hurts! But I didn’t cry ^^ ) After 4 hours, it was finally time for lunch and I made the man a typical dutch dish ‘’Boterham met Hagelslag’’ (basically it’s a slice of bread with butter and chocolate sprinkles) and he really liked it! (score!) After the other 2 hour session (so in total it took 5,5 hours…) it was finally finished and me and Cesar were so proud! I really love it and it is the best decision I ever made! (so no, I won’t regret this tattoo for the next 10 years! Not even when I had troubles walking for 2 days).

*Seeing a bunch of stones*
Finally, the big day was there: Stonehenge! (after all the problems I and Tommy had with the reservations/credit cards/bookings we were able to get everything ready the day beforehand and we couldn’t have taken another drop, haha). It was quite something to see those stones in real life! I had to wake up at 05:30, didn’t come back until 02:15 and spent 11 and a half hours on the bus/coach, but it was worth it! (even with the 20 minute run we had to make to get to the coach in time). I wish I could tell more about it, but it’s really something you have to see for yourself (or check the pictures I took).

*Typical Sunday*
After being awake for more than 20 hours the previous day, I was kind of surprised that I woke up at 10… So I decided to clean my room, the living room, the kitchen and the back garden. Which followed by a well-deserved cuddly hour with Penny. When me and the guys had brunch (because we never wake up that early to call it breakfast) we decided to go out to dinner later that day. We went to wetherspoon’s Black Horse and we had a nice dinner and some Guinness.

Now, it’s time to watch American Horror story with my boys and go to bed early! Good Night! xxx

*Things I’ve learned*
- In the 16th/17th century having an extra bed was a families biggest possession and they were so proud of it, that they placed it in the middle of the house for everyone to see.
- Shakespeare got Anne pregnant when he was 18 (technically no teen pregnancy)
- Tatu (Portuguese, pronounced as ‘’tattoo’’) means Armadillo
- Stonehenge is still vague
- Why I get motion sick once in a while and how to prevent it!
- My new summer project: Learn how to play the guitar
- Always make sure you’re half an hour in stock before your bus/train/coach leaves
- Don’t play with your camera too much or otherwise the battery runs out when you actually have something to photograph.
- Wherever you go, Wetherspoon will never disappoint you!

Enjoy my pictures! https://www.flickr.com/photos/116626563@N07/sets/72157642974555654/

  • 09 April 2014 - 14:24

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Esra, I really like your 'Things I've learned column' Save them and read them when you're 80.......you'll certainly have a good laugh then... enjoy, greetz, Jan

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Birmingham

Mijn eerste reis

Birmingham

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 Mei 2014

Still travelling

13 April 2014

Quite a week...

30 Maart 2014

Big week!

23 Maart 2014

Ups and Downs

16 Maart 2014

Another update!
Esra

Actief sinds 01 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 361
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8121

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Januari 2014 - 05 Juni 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: